11

Homemade Breadsticks

Breadsticks are so easy to make. I was panicking, when we went zero waste, that I wont be able to give my daughter breadsticks anymore!

It all happened, when we were making freezer pizza. My daughter was rolling the dough into a long, wiggley worm. She asked me, to bake it and I just threw it in with the pizza crust. I baked it and it was all yummy and crunchy and then my daughter wanted more wiggly worms. That’s how we made breadstick, without even knowing. I was so relieved to have found a way, to serve breadsticks without packaging.

This recipe is perfect, to turn it into a kids activity, it’s not too difficult to roll worms out of dough. You can also adjust the breadsticks to your taste and use different flour like spelt, sprinkle salt, sesame, poppy, cumin or cheese on the sticks, before baking. They will be extra delicious. Serve with a dip or just on its own.

500g flour

1/2 tbsp salt

1tbsp yeast

1tsp sugar

2 tbsp. oil ( I use avocado)

250ml warm water

Mix warm water with sugar and yeast. wait for about 15 minutes, till it is a wee bit bubbly on top.

Add all other ingredients and knead into a smooth dough, let it rest for about 30 min, in a warm place. The dough will double in size.

 

Now its time to knead the dough one more time and then start rolling the breadsticks. You can make them long or short, thick or thin.

 

Place them on a baking tray and bake about 25 min at 180 c. If your breadsticks are thicker, then you need to bake them longer, until they are no longer soft inside. They need to be crunchy.

IMG_4216

 

 

 

Let them cool down and then either store air tight or serve with a homemade dip. These breadsticks are perfect for children, when traveling or a party.

 

 

Leave a Reply