13

Homemade Nacho Chips

One of my worries, when going zero waste was, that I wont have enough snacks for my daughter. She loves Nachos, I love Nachos and so does my husband.

I didn’t even think, I could make Nachos myself. It is actually really easy and I have a healthy homemade snack, my daughter likes.

It’s basically like making tortillas, just the maize flour content is higher and the tortilla needs to be rolled thinner. There is two ways, to make them crunchy. You deep fry them or you bake them. I went with the baking option.

IMG_3823

 

When you serve them, try arranging the nachos in a tray and bake them with cheese for a few minutes, then serve with salsa, guacamole and refried beans! Simply Amazing!

 

 

 

 

I haven’t counted, how many nachos I got out of that recipe but it was about 4 baking trays. These Nachos are perfect for movie night!

1 cup flour

1 cup maize flour

1/2- 1 tbsp salt

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 cup oil ( I use Avocad oil)

1 cup warm water

 

Method

Mix all dry ingredient in a bowl, then add wet ingredient and knead it into a smooth dough. Take about the size of a walnut from the dough and roll it out very thin. Bake in a pan (cast iron is best), till golden. Cut them in half and then cut triangles from each half.

IMG_3710 IMG_3712 IMG_3714

Repeat till all dough is gone and then arrange the nachos on baking trays and bake 180 c for about 15 min. Check that they don’t burn! Or just deep fry them! Let them cool down and serve!

IMG_3716

I have kept a few in an air tight jar, for two days and they were still crunchy. So they can be made ahead and stored for a few days.

Just try this recipe once. I’m sure you will love it and stop buying nachos in non recycable packaging!

An alternative would be, you check out your local Mexican take away or restaurant, order fresh nachos and take them with you in a jar, box or bag.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply